Margate Man Off To Iceland

10 05 2010

Dan Stubbs has agreed to join Icelandic side KA Akureyri from Ryman League Premier Division side Margate.

The 20 year old midfielder came through the Ebbsfleet United youth system and will join the team from north Iceland hopefully in time to play in the season opener this Sunday.

Stubbs will be playing in 1. deild karla (the second tier in Iceland) for Akureyri, who won Úrvalsdeild (the top tier of Icelandic football) in 1989. He was voted as player of the year from 2009/10 by Margate supporters to which he responded in shock. “I have no idea why they chose me,” said Stubbs. “All I know is that I always do my very best and it felt great honor to receive this award.”

Dan spoke of his happiness in joining the club. “I feel very good to be here, all are very friendly and have made me welcome.”

“My first acquaintance of the club is fantastic, it’s all done very professional and I am pleased to be part of what is going on here.

“I play a fast one-two touch football analysis and make things not too complex.  I hope that is what the fans want to see here.”

Stubbs also stated how he was looking forward to live abroad. “I think Akureyri good place, as I said earlier that everyone has been very nice and I like the view and the landscape here is unbelievable, something I never saw when I was in England.

“I just want to thank for the opportunity to be here.  I look forward to start the period and hope to everyone at the club can enjoy the season that hopefully will be great”

Dan will be coached by English player/manager Dean Martin at his new club. Dean moved to West Ham in 1991 but didn’t manage to break into the first team. He also had spells Colchester, Brentford and Stevenage Borough but he has been in Iceland since 2000.

Quotes sourced from KA Akureyri official website (in Icelandic) so may not be word perfect. English facts from NonLeague Daily.com.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

