Win Not Enough For Waitakere United In O-League Final

7 05 2010

Neil Emblen (centre) celebrates after headed goal Photo by Shane Wenzlick/©

Waitakere United won the second leg of the O-League final but it wasn’t enough to win the tie overall.

Hekari United went into the game with a 3-0 advantage from the first leg in Papua New Guinea two weeks earlier.

Englishmen Danny Robinson, Martin Bullock, Neil Sykes and player/manager Neil Emblen all started for Waitakere United in the second leg at Fred Taylor Park, Waitakere City, New Zealand. Read the rest of this entry »


Steve McClaren Dutch Champions Interviews

4 05 2010

Photo by Fakwes

To go with the report on FC Twente winning the Eredivisie title is the selection of the best Steve McClaren interviews since the 2-0 over NAC Breda on Sunday.

It was the club’s first Dutch title in their 45 year history and was McClaren’s first league title as a manager.

The Eredivisie goes down as Steve’s second honour as a boss to go with the League Cup he won with Middlesbrough in 2004. He also led Boro to the UEFA Cup final in 2006 but didn’t pick up the trophy as they lost to Sevilla. Read the rest of this entry »

FC Twente & Steve McClaren Win Eredivisie Title

3 05 2010

Photo by Angelo Romano

Steve McClaren’s FC Twente side claimed the Eredivisie crown yesterday by winning the final game of the season.

Twente went into the game knowing only a win would guarantee them the Dutch title and as it turned out, the only result that would have with Ajax winning their final league game.

The team from Enschede faced a difficult trip to NAC Breda who themselves needed a win in their attempts to get into the Europa League playoff places. Read the rest of this entry »

Waitakere United Win NZFC Grand Final

25 04 2010

Waitakere United were crowned New Zealand Football Championship winners after victory in the grand final match against Canterbury United.

Waitakere”s four Englishmen all started as they came back from being a goal down early on to win 3-1. In the process, claiming the club’s second NZFC crown since the reconfiguration of New Zealander football in 2004.

In New Zealand, much like USA and Australia, teams qualify for end of season playoffs through their final league table position. The winner of the playoff is determined champion and not the team that finishes first in the league. Waitakere finished second in the regular season table. Read the rest of this entry »