Martin Bullock wins player of the year

18 06 2010

Martin Bullock picked up two major gongs at the Waitakere United end of season awards in New Zealand.

The 35 year old former Barnsley player was went home with the main prize of the night, the Lotto Player of the Year award.

Bullock’s performances throughout the season where also recognised by his teammates as he also won the Players’ Player of the Year award. Read the rest of this entry »


Win Not Enough For Waitakere United In O-League Final

7 05 2010

Neil Emblen (centre) celebrates after headed goal Photo by Shane Wenzlick/©

Waitakere United won the second leg of the O-League final but it wasn’t enough to win the tie overall.

Hekari United went into the game with a 3-0 advantage from the first leg in Papua New Guinea two weeks earlier.

Englishmen Danny Robinson, Martin Bullock, Neil Sykes and player/manager Neil Emblen all started for Waitakere United in the second leg at Fred Taylor Park, Waitakere City, New Zealand. Read the rest of this entry »

Waitakere United Win NZFC Grand Final

25 04 2010

Waitakere United were crowned New Zealand Football Championship winners after victory in the grand final match against Canterbury United.

Waitakere”s four Englishmen all started as they came back from being a goal down early on to win 3-1. In the process, claiming the club’s second NZFC crown since the reconfiguration of New Zealander football in 2004.

In New Zealand, much like USA and Australia, teams qualify for end of season playoffs through their final league table position. The winner of the playoff is determined champion and not the team that finishes first in the league. Waitakere finished second in the regular season table. Read the rest of this entry »